Filmwinter
  • Deutsch
  • English
Media-Space

Media – Space

22. – 25.01.2009    daily  11 – 22:00 h        Ex-IKEA



For the 9th time now the Media-Space will take place from January 22-25  – this year accompanying the Filmwinter. For the first time Wand 5 issued a call for tender to set up a realisation team for the Media-Space 09. At the end of October 2008 the Media-Space started an online discussion with curators via the weblog http://blog.media-space.org.

“The current global economic crisis has an impact on almost every area, even language itself suddenly became ambivalent in a new way. Financial terms, unknown to most of us until recently, have now become a vital part of our daily information flow. Gradually we become aware of the fact that fluctuations or crashes within the stock market are influencing our very personal experience.

In which way are artists reacting to this self-made global crisis? The subject “financial crisis” as well as the pieces of work dealing with it are not solely linking “local” and “global”, but might already make an attempt to produce a leap in shifting “lobal” to “glocal” or other hybrid forms of it. Certain ways of acting and traditional processes of thoughts suffered their own fatal collapse – the reason causing can be found in the breathtaking speed of the economy in the last 20 years.

The current financial crisis undoubtedly marks a breach, if not the end of the current form of neo liberalism.
So how are artists reacting to this and which practices are chosen by them to define their methods? In order to transfer the up-to-date-ness of “immateriality” it seemed appropriate to consider the modality of the material and aesthetic choice to classify the works.

The process-like strategies, which obviously have an impact on the current financial crisis, seem, however, to find an analogy in those pieces of work, which are created using generative methods. Apparently there is a similar distance to material sources aiding this impression. There is a certain consensus among the curators on the fact that there is a new generation of generative works questioning how we can sharpen our awareness of such complexities.

A fundamental beauty lies in nearly all “transformations” of generative processes, as well as the ability to make incomprehensible amounts of abstract data visible. The selected works might be able to combine these aspects while simultaneously finding a method of transformation of their complicated contents into a “real” Media-Space event.”

Further information:
http://blog.media-space.org  & http://wiki.media-space.org

 

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Media-Space special event:

Artist talk & discussion

Fri, 23.01.      14:00 h      Ex-IKEA

Members of the Media-Space curators’ team and some of the Media-Space artists will discuss the actual financial crisis and artists reactions to it, relating to the exhibited works and closing with some insights into the process of the online – curation of the Media-Space. Come and talk to them!

 



 
Login Form





Lost Password?
CLOSE...

Filmwinter
  • Deutsch
  • English
Mediaspace

Media – Space

22. – 25.01.2009    täglich  11 – 22:00 Uhr    Ex-IKEA


Begleitend zum 22. Filmwinter findet vom 22. – 25. Januar der mittlerweile neunte Media-Space statt. Für den Media-Space 09 wurde von Wand 5 e.V. erstmalig ein Wettbewerb für ein Realisationsteam ausgeschrieben. Ende Oktober 2008 startete der Media-Space 09 eine online-Kuratorendiskussion mit Hilfe eines Weblogs.

„Die gegenwärtige globale Wirtschaftskrise hat überall Auswirkungen, sogar die Sprache wurde plötzlich auf eine neue Art ambivalent. Finanzausdrücke, die vor Wochen niemandem von uns wirklich bekannt waren, sind inzwischen ein bedeutender Teil unseres täglichen Informationsflusses. Langsam dringt in unser Bewusstsein, dass die Schwankungen oder Abstürze der Börsenmärkte unsere sehr persönlichen Erfahrungen beeinflussen.

Wie reagieren Künstler auf diese selbst gemachte globale Krise? Das Thema ‘Finanzkrise’ sowie die Arbeiten, die sich damit beschäftigen, verbinden nicht nur ‘lokal’ mit ‘global’, sondern setzen eventuell bereits zu einer sprunghaften Verschiebung von ‘lobal` zu ‘glokal’ oder zu anderen hybriden Formen davon an. Bestimmte Formen des Handels und traditionelle Gedankenprozesse erlitten ihren eigenen verhängnisvollen Kollaps, dessen Gründe in der schallmauerdurchbrechenden Fluggeschwindigkeit der Wirtschaft der letzten zwanzig Jahre zu suchen sind.

Die gegenwärtige Finanzkrise markiert zweifellos einen Bruch, wenn nicht das Ende der aktuellen Form des Neoliberalismus.
Wie reagieren Künstler also und welche Praxis wählen sie, um ihre Methoden zu definieren? Es schien hier angebracht, zur Klassifikation der Arbeiten die Art und Weise der materiellen und ästhetischen Auswahl zu berücksichtigen, um die Aktualität der ’Immaterialität’ zu transportieren.

Die prozessualen Strategien, die offensichtlich in die gegenwärtige Finanzkrise hineinwirken, scheinen jedenfalls eine Analogie in jenen Arbeiten zu finden, die unter Verwendung generativer Methoden entstehen. Offenbar gibt es hier eine ähnliche Distanz zu den materiellen Quellen, die diesen Eindruck begünstigen. Es besteht ein gewisser Konsens unter den Kuratoren darüber, dass es eine neue Generation von generativen Arbeiten gibt, die danach fragen, wie man unser Bewusstsein für solche Komplexitäten schärfen kann.

Eine grundsätzliche Schönheit wohnt fast allen ‘Übersetzungen’ generativer Prozesse inne, ebenso wie ihre Fähigkeit, unfassbare Mengen abstrakter Daten sichtbar zu machen. Die ausgewählten Arbeiten könnten in der Lage sein, diese Aspekte zu kombinieren und gleichzeitig eine Methode der Umwandlung ihres komplizierten Inhalts in ein „reales“ Media-Space Ereignis zu finden.“

Weitere Informationen:
http://blog.media-space.org  & http://wiki.media-space.org

 

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- 

 

Media-Space special event:

Artist talk & discussion

Fr, 23.01.      14:00 Uhr      Ex-IKEA

Die Media-Space-Online-KuratorInnen und einige der beteiligten Künstler vertiefen bei einem Gespräch nochmals die Thematik der gegenwärtigen Finanzkrise und die künstlerischen Reaktionen anhand der ausgestellten Arbeiten und einem Resumée der Onlinediskussion. Sprechen Sie mit!




 


 
Login Form





Passwort vergessen?
CLOSE...