Filmwinter
  • Deutsch
  • English
Media in Space - Exhibition

International Competition
Media in Space




Thu, 22.01.     22:00 h     Filmhaus

soundscape // lightscape - optosonic improvisations

Audio-visual sound concert
Visual, Piano: Kurt Laurenz Theinert
Klang: Fried Dähn

Kurt Laurenz Theinert plays live graphic patterns with his “visual instrument” (visual piano). All the elements are produced and altered in real time via a MIDI keyboard. The abstractness of the images as well as the panorama projection create a visual experience which, like music, fills the whole room and which is not referring to anything by its abstractness but evokes a multitude of associations. Fried Dähn creates soundscapes spreading before the ears of the visitors like a panorama.



----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Media in Space – Exhibition


22. – 31.01.2009    KUNSTBEZIRK - Galerie im Gustav-Siegle-Haus

Opening hours:      Tue – Fri     15 – 19:00 h
                              Sat              15 – 18:00 h


Mixing Cities
Bart Koppe, The Netherlands 2007    

“Mixing Cities” brings together, in real-time, the sounds of several cities in an audiovisual installation. The environmental sounds are picked up by microphones and directly transmitted to 'Mixing Cities'. It is possible to listen to the sounds of one or more cities at the same time. The current lighting at the locations is registered with sensors and directly translated into the light intensity of the lamps as well. By choosing and switching between the cities you can make your own journey between the cities and get a different experience of distances and space.

Further information: http://a-bort.org




Die Welt
The world

Katz&Fuchs, Germany 2008
Videoinstallation, 5:00 Min. / Endlosloop
Musik: Kpt. Michigan, (Michael Beckett)

„Die Welt“ (“The world“) – an experimental video – deals with the perception of space and time in a world that can be experienced visually. The camera is used as an observation prosthesis to explore and visualise the visible. Instead of the perspective we know, which is directed at a central point and the linear film-related timeline, the view of space is transferred into a parallel multi-perspective. The displayed space is being bent, compressed and expanded. The results that can be seen within each scene are expanded time-wise to multiple multiplications, or are compressed until they completely disappear. Thus the assembly itself offers an alternative view of space and time to become visible.




INPUT / OUTPUT
Britta Fehrmann, Germany 2007    
Programmierung: Michael Thies

In the installation „Input/Output“ a feedback system between an embroidery machine and a camera is created generating a metaphorical depiction of the system itself with each loop. Otherwise fugitive streams of data manifest, they are made visible in “embroidered stories”. The work creates a balance between its sharp-witted comment on current practices of surveillance and an endless production of serial manufactured and yet highly individual poetic artefacts.




untitled sound objects
pe lang & zimoun, Switzerland 2008

In early 2004, pe lang and zimoun began their collaboration “untitled sound
objects”, a project in which physical materials generate sound
by vibrating them using small machines and simple robots. The artists
focus on creating acoustic architecture with an organic feel, investigating
the properties of sound, materials, resonance and generative systems. The
work is presented as sound installations and as live performances.
In the past years pe lang and zimoun's works have won several prizes and
awards and have been exhibited or shown as live performances internationally.

Further information: www.untitled-sound-objects.ch




Wie groß ist eigentlich die flache Schweiz?
How big is a flat Switzerland actually?

Claudia Vogel, Switzerland 2008

Camera: Jan Müller

What happens if I destroy a symbol?
Is Switzerland the same country if the mountains are flat?
Is Switzerland really small, or is it maybe just high?
Are the people who live in the mountains different from the ones in the plains?
Is it hard to make Switzerland flat?
I rebuilt Switzerland with 1,200 kilograms of sand as a height relief (1: 50 000) in seven days. It was flat within one hour.




6 Gefühle
6 Feelings

Max Philipp Schmid, Switzerland 2004 / 2007

Point of origin for this is the research of facial expression research scientist Paul Ekman and his efforts to file the human emotional expressions on the basis of muscular stimuli of the face. In his research he managed to isolate 40 individual muscular contractions and define various facial expressions as their combinations.
His descriptions of individual emotions such as joy, anger or grief read like overly accurate stage directions. In this installation they are used as exactly that.




FACE IT! (von Angesicht zu Angesicht)
FACE IT! (face-to-face)

Michael Brynntrup, Germany 2007

Interactive Video Installation, 16:40 Min. (Loop)

Idee, Realisation/ Fotobearbeitung/Schnitt: Michael Brynntrup
Musik(bearbeitung): P2P (Michael Brynntrup)
Kompilation: Francisco Camacho, Michael Brynntrup
Darsteller: anonyme Selbstdarsteller
Produktion: MBC-Filmproduktion 2007

"FACE IT! (face-to-face)" is a peer-to-peer installation in offline mode. A big, walk-in corner wardrobe. The spectators enter individually and then see a video on a vertically mounted flat screen with lifesize self-portraits from current chat profiles. FACE IT! is a confrontation with the new privacy of the World Wide Web (2.0).

Further information: www.brynntrup.de/x0702de




Passages
Roz Mortimer, Great Britain 2007    

Kamera: Roz Mortimer, Robert Arnold, Jeremy Williams
Schnitt: Roz Mortimer
Ton: Roz Mortimer, Tom Vandyk

(is this a love letter or a suicide note?)
Two synchronised video projections draw us into a compelling journey through the labyrinthine gardens and ruins of Villa Serbelloni on Lake Como, Italy. Mortimers’ diary forms the narrative base of the work. Her installation fluidly interweaves thousands of still photographs, video and timelapse photography. The passage of time, light, and people is central to this work where location and landscape become devices to explore duality, enclosure and isolation – both as physical and psychological states.




„Josephine“
A novel by Joachim Peter, Germany 2008

Multi-medial, space-oriented installation for a novel project.

The fact that author Thomas Mann worked as an extra for the film shoot of „King Kong“ during his time in the American exile, and interpreted the monster movie as the realisation of his novel tetralogy „Josephus“ is hardly known to anyone. Following this experience Mann developed the script for his own desaster movie: Josephus turns into Josephine, freed from inside him after a long spiritual journey. Projections of Josephine are flickering in the room and the visitors can take part in an interactive way by reading or commenting on the pages of the novel. A collective audio book version is being created.

Further information: www.josephine-web.de/




Pop-ups
Helmut Smits, The Netherlands 2009

Stickers to be stuck in the right upper corner of outdoor advertisement boards. These advertisements are real-life pop-ups that are put in your face every day while strolling through the city.




OH CET ECHO
Johanna Smiatek, Germany 2006

Objekt, mehrteilig  
Material: Holz, Spiegel, Elektronik, Samt  
Größe: ca. 40 x 28 x 75 cm  
1 Zeichnung, 18 x 26 cm, Gouache auf Papier

Referring to the modern form of the „notebook“ this work is dealing with the Greek myth of Narcissus and Echo. Narcissus, who loved his reflection and Echo, who loved Narcissus but was condemned to solely reproduce the last words uttered by the person opposite. A mirror is installed in the upper part of the retractable box and a digital recording device in the lower part. Approximately ten seconds are recorded, only the previous one can be played back.



Don ́t Touch
Johanna Smiatek, Germany 2007

Glimmer-Pigmente auf Wand, ca. 100 x 400 cm

A mural consisting of glitter pigments that are not smear-resistant. Whenever visitors touch the piece the glitter pigments get stuck on their fingers and the writing is smudged.




Enya
Rainer Eisch, Germany 2007  

16mm film installation, 11:15 Min.

Enya is a 16mm film that shows a multitude of polygons, which frequently appear as clusters spinning around in the air. The image was created with a 3D graphic programme and refers to the basic form of any mathematical calculation of 3D space: triangles and polygons. The polygons flying towards the viewer leave a lot of room for interpretations.

 
Login Form





Lost Password?
CLOSE...

Filmwinter
  • Deutsch
  • English
Medien im Raum – Ausstellung
Internationaler Wettbewerb
Medien im Raum




Do, 22.01.     22:00 Uhr     Filmhaus

soundscape // lightscape - optosonic improvisations

Audiovisuelles Klangkonzert / audio-visual sound concert
Visual, Piano: Kurt Laurenz Theinert
Klang: Fried Dähn

Mit seinem „Bildinstrument“ (visual piano) spielt Kurt Laurenz Theinert grafische Muster live. Alle Elemente werden über eine MIDI-Tastatur in Echtzeit erzeugt und verändert. Die Abstraktheit der Bilder und die Panoramaprojektion lassen ein visuelles Erlebnis entstehen, das, wie Musik auch, den ganzen Raum füllt und durch die Abstraktheit auf nichts verweist, aber eine Vielzahl von Assoziationen auslöst. Fried Dähn erzeugt Klanglandschaften, die sich panoramagleich vor den Ohren der Besucher ausbreiten.



------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Medien im Raum – Ausstellung


22. – 31.01.2009    KUNSTBEZIRK - Galerie im Gustav-Siegle-Haus

Öffnungszeiten:      Di – Fr     15 – 19:00 Uhr
                               Sa           15 – 18:00 Uhr



Mixing Cities
Bart Koppe, Niederlande 2007    

„Mixing Cities“ vereint – in Echtzeit – die Geräuschkulissen fünf verschiedener Städte in einer audiovisuellen Installation. Die Atmo-Geräusche werden von Mikrofonen aufgezeichnet und direkt an “Mixing Cities” übermittelt. Man kann gleichzeitig die Geräusche einer oder mehrerer Städte hören. Auch der aktuelle Lichtpegel wird von Sensoren vor Ort registriert und in die Lichtintensität der Lampen übertragen. Indem man die jeweiligen Städte auswählt oder zwischen ihnen wechselt, kann man einen unterschiedlichen Wahrnehmungswert von Entfernung und Raum gewinnen.




Die Welt
The world

Katz&Fuchs, Deutschland 2008
Videoinstallation, 5:00 Min. / Endlosloop Musik: Kpt. Michigan, (Michael Beckett)

Die experimentelle Videoarbeit „die Welt“ beschäftigt sich mit der räumlichen und zeitlichen Wahrnehmung unserer visuell erfahrbaren Welt. Dabei wird die Kamera als Beobachtungsprothese zur Erkundung und Visualisierung des Sichtbaren genutzt. Anstelle der uns bekannten, auf einen zentralen Punkt ausgerichteten Perspektive und des linearen, filmischen Zeitablaufes wird die Raumsicht in eine parallele Multiperspektive übersetzt. Der dargestellte Raum wird gekrümmt, gestaucht und gedehnt. Die innerhalb der Szene sichtbaren Ereignisse dehnen sich zeitlich bis zu ihrer mehrfachen Multiplikation, bzw. werden gestaucht bis zu ihrem vollkommenen Verschwinden. Allein die Montage ermöglicht auf diese Weise die Sichtbarmachung einer alternativen Raum-Zeit-Sicht.




INPUT / OUTPUT
Britta Fehrmann, Deutschland 2007    
Programmierung: Michael Thies

Die Installation „Input/Output“ lässt zwischen Stickmaschine und Kamera ein Feedbacksystem entstehen, das mit jeder Schleife ein metaphorisches Abbild des Systems selbst ausgibt. Ansonsten flüchtige Datenströme manifestieren sich, sie werden in den „gestickten Erzählungen“ sichtbar gemacht. Die Arbeit schafft eine Balance zwischen ihrem scharfsinnigen Kommentar gängiger Überwachungspraxis und der nicht versiegenden Produktion seriell hergestellter und doch höchst individuell ausfallender poetischer Artefakte.




untitled sound objects
pe lang & zimoun, Schweiz 2008

pe lang und zimoun arbeiten seit 2004 gemeinsam unter dem Titel „untitled sound
objects“. Ihren Werken liegt die Arbeit mit digital angesteuerter Mechanik oder
mechanischen Systemen und damit zum Klingen gebrachten Materialien zu Grunde. Dabei nutzen sie verschiedenste, meist aus dem Industriebereich stammende
Motoren und mechanische Elemente, um diese in isolierter, roher Form und meist
großer Anzahl als Bausteine für ihre Werke einzusetzen.
Ausgezeichnet mit verschiedenen Preisen wurden die Arbeiten von pe lang und zimoun in Form von Ausstellungen oder live Performances in Europa, Asien und Nordamerika präsentiert.

Weitere Informationen: www.untitled-sound-objects.ch




Wie groß ist eigentlich die flache Schweiz?
How big is a flat Switzerland actually?

Claudia Vogel, Schweiz 2008

Kamera: Jan Müller

Was passiert, wenn ich ein Symbol zerstöre?
Ist die Schweiz noch dasselbe Land, wenn die Berge flach sind?
Ist die Schweiz wirklich klein, oder ist sie vielleicht nur hoch?
Sind die Leute in den Bergen anders als im Flachland?
Ist es schwer, die Schweiz flach zu kriegen?
In 7 Tagen habe ich aus 1200 Kilogramm Sand die Schweiz als Höhenrelief
(1: 50 000) nachgebaut. In einer Stunde war sie flach.




6 Gefühle
6 Feelings

Max Philipp Schmid, Schweiz 2004 / 2007

Ausgangspunkt sind Untersuchungen des Mimikforschers Paul Ekman, der versucht, den menschlichen Gefühlsausdruck auf Grund muskulärer Impulse im Gesicht zu katalogisieren. Er hat für seine Forschung über 40 einzelne Muskelbewegungen isoliert und definiert die verschiedenen Gesichtsausdrücke als deren Kombination. Seine Beschreibungen der einzelnen Gefühlsregungen wie Freude, Wut oder Trauer lesen sich wie übertrieben genaue Regieanweisungen. Und genau als das werden sie in dieser Installation verwendet.




FACE IT! (von Angesicht zu Angesicht)
FACE IT! (face-to-face)

Michael Brynntrup, Deutschland 2007

Interaktive Video Installation, 16:40 Min. (Loop)

Idee, Realisation/ Fotobearbeitung/Schnitt: Michael Brynntrup
Musik(bearbeitung): P2P (Michael Brynntrup)
Kompilation: Francisco Camacho, Michael Brynntrup
Darsteller: anonyme Selbstdarsteller
Produktion: MBC-Filmproduktion 2007

"FACE IT! (von Angesicht zu Angesicht)" ist eine peer-to-peer-Installation im offline-Modus. Ein großer, begehbarer Eckschrank. Die Zuschauer treten einzeln ein und sehen dann auf einem vertikal-montierten Flachbildschirm ein Video mit lebensgroßen Selbstportraits aus aktuellen Chatprofilen. „FACE IT!“ ist eine Konfrontation mit der neuen Privatheit des World Wide Web (2.0).

Weitere Informationen: www.brynntrup.de/x0702de




Passages
Roz Mortimer, Großbritannien 2007    

Kamera: Roz Mortimer, Robert Arnold, Jeremy Williams
Schnitt: Roz Mortimer
Ton: Roz Mortimer, Tom Vandyk

(Ist das ein Liebes- oder ein Abschiedsbrief?)
Zwei zeitgleich ablaufende Videoprojektionen nehmen uns auf eine spannende Reise durch die verschlungenen Gärten und Ruinen der Villa Serbelloni am Comer See in Italien mit. Mortimers Tagebuch bildet hierbei die narrative Grundlage der Arbeit. Ihre Installation verwebt in flüssiger Folge tausende von Standfotos mit Video- und Zeitraffer-Aufnahmen. Der Übergang von Zeit, Licht und Menschen ist in dieser Arbeit – in der Orte und Landschaften als Mittel genutzt werden, um Dualität, Eingeschlossenheit und Isolation, sowohl in physischem wie psychologischem Zustand, zu erfassen – zentraler Bestandteil.




„Josephine“
Ein Roman von Joachim Peter, Deutschland 2008

Multi-mediale, raumbezogene Installation zum Romanprojekt.

Wenigen ist bekannt, dass der Schriftsteller Thomas Mann im amerikanischen Exil als Komparse bei den Dreharbeiten zu King Kong beteiligt war und den Monsterfilm als Verwirklichung seiner Roman-Tetralogie „Josephus“ interpretierte. Thomas Mann entwickelt anschließend das Drehbuch für einen eigenen Katastrophenfilm: aus Josephus wird Josephine, die er auf einer langen spirituellen Reise in sich befreien kann. Projektionen zu Josephine flackern im Raum und die Besucher können sich interaktiv beteiligen, in dem sie Seiten des Romans lesen oder kommentieren. Es entsteht eine kollektive Hör-Spiel-Version.

Weitere Informationen: www.josephine-web.de/




Pop-ups
Helmut Smits, Niederlande 2009

Aufkleber, die in die rechte obere Ecke von Außen-Werbeflächen geklebt werden. Diese Werbeflächen sind echte Pop-Ups, die einem beim Spaziergang durch die Stadt vor Augen gehalten werden.




OH CET ECHO
Johanna Smiatek, Deutschland 2006

Objekt, mehrteilig  
Material: Holz, Spiegel, Elektronik, Samt  
Größe: ca. 40 x 28 x 75 cm  
1 Zeichnung, 18 x 26 cm, Gouache auf Papier
 
Bezugnehmend auf die moderne Form des “Notebooks”, geht es hierbei um den griechischen Mythos von Narziss und Echo. Narziss, der sein Spiegelbild liebte und Echo, die Narziss liebte, jedoch dazu verdammt war, nur die letzten gesprochenen Worte des Gegenübers wiedergeben zu können. Im oberen Teil des Klappkastens ist der Spiegel, im unteren Teil ist die digitale Aufnahmetechnik eingebaut. Aufgenommen werden ca. 10 Sekunden. Wiedergegeben werden kann nur die letzte Aufnahme.




Don't Touch
Johanna Smiatek, Deutschland 2007

Glimmer-Pigmente auf Wand, ca. 100 x 400 cm

Wandarbeit, die aus nicht wischfesten Glimmer-Pigmenten besteht. Sollte ein Besucher die Arbeit berühren, hat er die Pigmente an den Fingern und verwischt die Schrift.




Enya
Rainer Eisch, Deutschland 2007  

16 mm Filminstallation, 11:15 Min.

Enya ist ein 16mm Film, der eine Vielzahl von Polygonen zeigt,  welche als Haufen in regelmäßigen Abständen auftauchen und durch die Luft gewirbelt werden. Das in einem 3-D-Grafikprogramm erzeugte Bild verweist auf die Grundform einer jeden mathematischen Berechnung von 3-D Räumen: Dreiecke und Polygone. Die auf den Betrachter zufliegenden Polygone lassen viele Interpretationen offen.

 
Login Form





Passwort vergessen?
CLOSE...