Filmwinter
  • Deutsch
  • English
Online / Offline – Exhibition
International Competition
Online / Offline



22. – 25.01.2009    Ex – IKEA

Opening hours:  Thu – Sun     11 – 22:00 Uhr

Sat 6 pm: - Wii-Mote Masters Competition Ex-IKEA

 



Online / Offline – Exhibition
Co-Curated by Olia Lialina & Dragan Espenschied



Becoming German - a Database
Joanne Moar, Germany, seit 2004  

The online database comprises an ever growing collection of “donated” German childhood memories, which provide a digital source of information and assistance to those, who did not have a German childhood and would like to “become German”. There are two ways to use the database: either memories of growing up in Germany can be entered into the database,  i.e. “donated”, or details of an imaginary childhood in Germany can be “received”. The childhood memories which are “received” are compiled from the data which has been “donated” and represent memories of a possible German childhood which can then be appropriated as one’s own.

Further information: www.becoming-german.de




DVblogH4ck
by jimpunk

~ vlog rem:x of DVblog.org videos ~

thefrenchdemocracy .nato2_ .nato1_ .mygeneration .maltese_falcon .journey .heroine .gta_lego_city .gijoe10 .essen_dortmund_lederhosen_ .coffee_and_cigarettes_ .attack_ofthe_50ft_woman .PJB .Milking .1947 .django .house_of_cosbys .agnusdei_v06 .vimeo .56218 .yoko .800collages .no_more_workhorse_blues .386dx_2001 .the_pink_panther .bells .bitterwaterblackbirdh .Dark_Stars .26sharits .jor_el .roundabout .1video .s1s2 .tothemax .a_greater_degree_of_hardware_awareness .anarchy_In_the_UK .the_cut_ups_clip .what_is_this .willow_creek_coffee .johnny .rb_06_jul_19 .Television_Texts .NJP_documenta1977 .livingproof .dali .anarchy_desexed .last_train_ride .VariationV .duet .rist .baldessari_sings_lewitt .8_halfmile .Surfacing .motherfucker .8bit .KillBill .citizen_kane_b .citizen_kane_a .citizen_kane_d .citizen_kane_c .recaptrailer .asyou .thenandnow .howl .BANANA_GHOST .wildernesstroublev2 .between .forsoreeyes .shining [...]

Further information: http://dvblogh4ck.blogspot.com & http://jimpunk.com





TRIPTYCH.TV
by jimpunk, abe linkoln & mrtamale

Video blog and collaborative work, vlog for videos collage, mix and remix.

Further information: http://TRIPTYCH.TV




The Sound of eBay
Ubermorgen.com 2008

In their EKMRZ trilogy of works the artist duo Ubermorgen explore the power of the Internet superpowers: Google, Amazon and eBay. In “Sound of Ebay”, the most recent work in the series, the user starts by entering an eBay account name. A software "bot" then proceeds to index the eBay data connected to that account, such as identity and trading history. This data is then used to provide a score file for a Supercollider sound engine, producing a "song" that is presented to the user in teletext porn style. By translating semantic data such as trading histories into arbitrary glitch muzak, Sound of eBay questions the constructed meaning those data are supposed to represent.

Further information: http://www.Sound-of-eBay.com ,
www.ubermorgen.com/EKMRZ_Trilogy/




Liquid Prairie
Erika Lincoln, Canada 2007   

Using Google Maps API, Quick time Videos and text, Liquid Prairie Web Project chronicles a series of walks of the Red River Floodway in Winnipeg, Canada between February 2007 and April 2007.

Further information: http://lincolnlab.net/LPforPlatform/liquidprairie.html




China Channel
Aram Barthol, Evan Roth, Tobias Leingruber


Experience the censored Chinese internet at home! The internet is often seen as the borderless, democratic network. But in fact the internet is not the same for everybody. State borders and filtering depending on the country you are living in.
The Firefox add-on China Channel offers internet user outside China to surf the web as if they were in China. Take an unforgetable virtual trip to China and experience the technical expertise of the Chinese Ministry of Information Industry (supported by western companies). It's open source, free and easy.

Further information: http://www.chinachannel.hk/




ICANHASHISTORY
Helene Dams

Cats were the secret super-stars of internet culture. In addition to star wallpapers and „under construction signs“ they have embellished the amateur web as „digital folk art“. And yet it was possible to surf the net without ever encountering them. All this changed when all of a sudden the cute cats demanded cheezburgers, rode invisible bicycles and continuously asked for “Halp!”.

Further information : http://nm.merz-akademie.de/~helene.dams/icanhashistory/  




Bootyclipse
Dennis Knopf

„Bootyclipse“ is a series of manipulated videos on YouTube. The original clips had been published by female users of this platform to demonstrate their quite frivolous dancing talents. Videos like this exist in abundance and have become something like a format in its own right on the internet. Dennis Knopf collected 333 of these clips - mainly the ones where the mostly underaged girls cannot be seen at first as they still have to quickly put the music on – looping the video track of these moments while the original sound tracks are continuously running.
The result are empty rooms, though hinting at the genre Booty Clip due to the music and the unchanged original titles and descriptions, cannot fulfil the expectations of the user to see a tight butt.

Further information: www.youtube.com/dennisknopf  

 



WEB 1.0 PROJEKT
Michael Russ, Germany 2008

On July 3rd 2008, the WEB 1.0 PROJEKT provided an automated service, enabling the individual users of the social network „studiVZ“ to create a private website of their own. Within a short time more than 1000 users of VZ managed to escape from Web 2.0. Thus pure 90s web design re-emerged on the screens. Sparkling „Welcome“ banners and countless „Under Construction“ animations are decorating these revived milestones of the World Wide Web.

Further information: http://web.1punkt0.net/me




Animated GIF Mandala
Kevin Bewersdorf, USA 2008

Media: 1680 x 1050 uncompressed video, 16 frames

This mandala was constructed from unaltered GIF files that were found as part of a daily ritual practice of web surfing. The files were uncovered over the course of 8 months and gradually assembled in a seated posture at a laptop.  Each GIF cycles in a ratio of 16, 12, 8, 4, or 2 frames.

Further information: www.maximumsorrow.com/layout/meditation.gif




Time Lapse Homepage
Paul Slocum

A short video made with HTML. The minute-long video was made sequentially, frame-by-frame from beautifully hand crafted HTML and images found on the web, taking a screenshot after each change until I had 1000 frames. The sound comes from MIDI files (primarily U2, Moby, and Madonna) placed on the page. At the time of each screenshot, a brief clip of audio was recorded from the MIDI files currently playing on the page, and then strung together into a chart-topping soundtrack.

Further information: http://qotile.net/webpage.html  




20 years ago    
John Michael Boling

A screen projection with sound.

Further information: www.gooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooogle.com/20y.html




13ter Shop - 31 Tage im Einkaufszentrum
13th Shop – 31 days in a shopping mall


Florian Thalhofer, Kolja Mensing, Germany 2006    
Music: Jim Avignon

OFFLINE

Welcome to paradise: with shopping malls mankind has fulfilled its dream of a climate-stable zone, in which anything seems possible. In reality – and especially inside a shopping mall – stories do not take place successively but simultaneously. Therefore Kolja Mensing and Florian Thalhofer focus on a non-linear and rhizomatic form of narration. The Korsakow System developed by Thalhofer is applied as an authoring environment: the film is played on the computer from a DVD. Using the mouse the viewer clicks his way through the film.




Online Newspapers. Wall Street Journal 2004, 2008
Olia Lialina, Dragan Espenschied

For “Online Newspapers” artists Olia Lialina and Dragan Espenschied revive the amateur aesthetic by pairing it with the content of the mainstream press. They imagine how news sites would appear were they developed by the lay journalists whose aesthetic choices defined Web culture before the dot-com boom. Creating a faux precedent to today’s Web news, “Online Newspapers” also alludes to the perpetual obsolescence of technology and style – a major factor in our ever-changing media landscape.

Further information: http://art.teleportacia.org/exhibition/online_newspapers_new_york_edition/



---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------


Co-Curators Online – Exhibition

Olia Lialina & Dragan Espenschied

The Media artists Olia Lialina and Dragan Espenschied worked as co-curators for this year´s online competition. Olia Lialina has developed a special technique of narration using the language of the elements of a web browser in her work, and is considered one of the founders of the net.art genre. Dragan Espenschied is an artist, designer, programmer and musician.

Further information: http://drx.a-blast.org





 
Login Form





Lost Password?
CLOSE...

Filmwinter
  • Deutsch
  • English
Online / Offline – Ausstellung
Internationaler Wettbewerb
Online / Offline



22. – 25.01.2009    Ex – IKEA

Öffnungszeiten:  Do – So     11 – 22:00 Uhr

Sa 18 Uhr: - Wii-Mote Masters Competition Ex-IKEA




Online / Offline – Ausstellung
Co-Kuratiert von Olia Lialina & Dragan Espenschied



Becoming German - a Database

Joanne Moar, Deutschland, seit 2004  

Die Datenbank als Kernstück des Projektes „Becoming German“ ist eine virtuelle Sammelstelle für deutsche Kindheitserinnerungen. Zwei Nutzungen der Datenbank sind möglich: Entweder können eigene Erinnerungen aus der Kindheit in Deutschland der Datenbank hinzugefügt werden (Kindheit spenden), oder es kann, anhand der schon vorhandenen Erinnerungen, eine neue deutsche Kindheit zusammengestellt werden (Kindheit empfangen).

Weitere Informationen: www.becoming-german.de




DVblogH4ck
by jimpunk

~ vlog rem:x of DVblog.org videos ~

thefrenchdemocracy .nato2_ .nato1_ .mygeneration .maltese_falcon .journey .heroine .gta_lego_city .gijoe10 .essen_dortmund_lederhosen_ .coffee_and_cigarettes_ .attack_ofthe_50ft_woman .PJB .Milking .1947 .django .house_of_cosbys .agnusdei_v06 .vimeo .56218 .yoko .800collages .no_more_workhorse_blues .386dx_2001 .the_pink_panther .bells .bitterwaterblackbirdh .Dark_Stars .26sharits .jor_el .roundabout .1video .s1s2 .tothemax .a_greater_degree_of_hardware_awareness .anarchy_In_the_UK .the_cut_ups_clip .what_is_this .willow_creek_coffee .johnny .rb_06_jul_19 .Television_Texts .NJP_documenta1977 .livingproof .dali .anarchy_desexed .last_train_ride .VariationV .duet .rist .baldessari_sings_lewitt .8_halfmile .Surfacing .motherfucker .8bit .KillBill .citizen_kane_b .citizen_kane_a .citizen_kane_d .citizen_kane_c .recaptrailer .asyou .thenandnow .howl .BANANA_GHOST .wildernesstroublev2 .between .forsoreeyes .shining [...]

Weitere Informationen: http://dvblogh4ck.blogspot.com & http://jimpunk.com





TRIPTYCH.TV
by jimpunk, abe linkoln & mrtamale

Video-Blog und Gemeinschaftsarbeit, Vlog für Video-Collage, Mix und –Remix

Weitere Informationen: http://TRIPTYCH.TV




The Sound of eBay
Ubermorgen.com 2008

In den Arbeiten ihrer EKMRZ-Trilogie untersucht das Künstler-Duo Ubermorgen die Macht der Internet-Supermächte: Google, Amazon und eBay. Bei “Sound of eBay”, der aktuellsten Arbeit der Reihe, beginnt der Benutzer mit der Eingabe eines Konto-Namens bei eBay. Ein Software-“Bot” registriert daraufhin die eBay-Daten, die zu diesem Konto gehören, z.B. Identität und Verkaufsgeschichte. Mit diesen Daten wird dann eine Musik-Datei für eine Supercollider-Soundmaschine erstellt, die wiederum einen Song produziert. Der Song wird dem Benutzer im Anschluss im Teletext-Porno-Stil präsentiert. Indem es semantische Daten, wie z.B. die Verkaufsgeschichte, in beliebige Berieselungsmusik überführt, hinterfragt „Sound of eBay“ die konstruierte Bedeutung, die diese Daten darstellen sollen.

Weitere Informationen: http://www.Sound-of-eBay.com ,
www.ubermorgen.com/EKMRZ_Trilogy/




Liquid Prairie
Erika Lincoln, Kanada 2007   

Mit der Nutzung von Google Maps API, Quick time Videos und Text erstellt das Liquid-Prairie-Web-Projekt die Chronik einer Reihe von Wanderungen am Red River Floodway in Winnipeg, Kanada, zwischen Februar und April 2007.

Weitere Informationen: http://lincolnlab.net/LPforPlatform/liquidprairie.html




China Channel
Aram Barthol, Evan Roth, Tobias Leingruber

Erlebe das zensierte chinesische Internet zuhause! Das Internet wird oft als grenzenloses, demokratisches Netzwerk gesehen. Aber tatsächlich ist das Internet nicht für jeden gleich. Staatliche Grenzen und Filter sind abhängig vom jeweiligen Land, in dem wir leben. Das China Channel Firefox Add-on ermöglicht dem Internet-Benutzer außerhalb Chinas, so im Web herum zu surfen, als wäre er in China. Wir laden zum unvergesslichen China-Ausflug ein, bei dem man die technische Expertise des Ministeriums für Industrie und Information der Volksrepublik China (unterstützt von westlichen Unternehmen) direkt erleben kann. Open Source, umsonst und bedienerfreundlich.

Weitere Informationen: http://www.chinachannel.hk/




ICANHASHISTORY
Helene Dams

Die heimlichen Superstars der Internetkultur waren Katzen. Sie schmückten neben Sterntapeten und "under construction"-Schildern als "digitale Volkskunst" das Amateur-Web. Dennoch war es möglich, das World Wide Web zu durchsurfen, ohne ihnen jemals zu begegnen. Das änderte sich, als die niedlichen Kätzchen plötzlich Cheezburger forderten, unsichtbare Räder fuhren oder ständig nach "Halp!" verlangten.

Weitere Informationen: http://nm.merz-akademie.de/~helene.dams/icanhashistory/  




Bootyclipse
Dennis Knopf

„Bootyclipse“ ist eine Serie von manipulierten Videos auf YouTube.
Die ursprünglichen Clips wurden von weiblichen Benutzern der Plattform veröffentlicht, um die eigenen, sehr anzüglichen Tanzkünste zu demonstrieren. Derartige Videos existieren im Überfluss und bilden inzwischen so etwas wie ein eigenes Format im Internet. Dennis Knopf hat 333 solcher Clips gesammelt - vor allem solche, in dem das oft minderjährige Mädchen anfangs noch nicht im Bild zu sehen ist, da sie schnell noch die Musik einschaltet - und die Videospur dieser Momente geloopt, während die originale Tonspur einfach weiterläuft.
Das Resultat sind leere Räume, die aufgrund der Musik und der unveränderten Originaltitel und -beschreibungen zwar auf das Genre der Booty-Clips hindeuten, aber die Erwartung der User, einen knackigen Hintern zu sehen, nicht erfüllen.

Weitere Informationen: www.youtube.com/dennisknopf




WEB 1.0 PROJEKT
Michael Russ, Deutschland 2008

Das WEB 1.0 PROJEKT stellte am 03. Juli. 2008 einen automatisierten  
Service zur Verfügung, der es einzelnen Nutzern des sozialen Netzwerks "studiVZ" ermöglichte, eine eigene, private Webseite erstellen zu lassen. Innerhalb kürzester Zeit gelang so über 1000  Nutzern des VZ die Flucht aus dem Web 2.0. Damit kehrte pures 90-er Jahre Webdesign zurück auf die Bildschirme. Glitzernde "Willkommens"-Banner und unzählige "Under Construction"- Animationen zieren diese wieder erweckten Meilensteine des World Wide Web.

Weitere Informationen: http://web.1punkt0.net/me




Animated GIF Mandala
Kevin Bewersdorf, USA 2008

Media: 1680 x 1050 uncompressed video, 16 frames

Dieses Mandala wurde aus unveränderten GIF-Dokumenten, die als Teil eines täglichen Rituals beim Surfen des Webs gefunden wurden, konstruiert. Die Dokumente wurden in einem Zeitraum von 8 Monaten aufgedeckt und nach und nach in einer sitzenden Position auf einem Laptop montiert. Jedes GIF dreht sich in einem Verhältnis von 16, 12, 8, 4 oder 2 Bildern.

Weitere Informationen: www.maximumsorrow.com/layout/meditation.gif




Time Lapse Homepage
Paul Slocum

Ein kurzes Video, das mit HTML gemacht wurde. Das Video dauert eine Minute und wurde in Sequenzen, Bild-für-Bild aus wunderbar handgefertigten HTMLs und Bildern aus dem Web hergestellt, wobei ich nach jedem Wechsel einen Screenshot machte, bis ich 1000 Bilder hatte. Der Sound kommt von MIDI-Dokumenten (hauptsächlich U2, Moby und Madonna), die auf der Seite angelegt wurden. Zu jedem Screenshot wurde ein kurzer Audioclip von den MIDI-Dokumenten, die gerade auf der Seite abgespielt wurden, aufgenommen, dann wurde alles zu einem Hitparaden-Soundtrack aneinander gereiht.

Weitere Informationen: http://qotile.net/webpage.html  




20 years ago    
John Michael Boling

Eine Bildschirm-Projektion mit Ton.

Weitere Informationen: www.gooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooogle.com/20y.html




13ter Shop - 31 Tage im Einkaufszentrum
13th Shop – 31 days in a shopping mall


Florian Thalhofer, Kolja Mensing, Deutschland 2006    
Musik: Jim Avignon

OFFLINE

Willkommen im Paradies: Mit der Shopping Mall hat die Menschheit sich den Traum einer klimatisch stabilisierten Zone erfüllt, in der alles möglich zu sein scheint. In der Wirklichkeit – und insbesondere in einem Shopping Center – ereignen Geschichten sich nicht nacheinander, sondern gleichzeitig.  Kolja Mensing und Florian Thalhofer setzen darum auf eine non-lineare und rhizomatische Erzählweise. Als Authoring-Umgebung kommt das von Thalhofer entwickelte Korsakow-System zum Einsatz: Der Film wird auf dem Computer von DVD abgespielt. Mit der Maus klickt sich der Betrachter seinen eigenen Weg durch den Film.




Online Newspapers. Wall Street Journal 2004, 2008
Olia Lialina, Dragan Espenschied

Für “Online Newspapers” beleben die Künstler Olia Lialina und Dragan Espenschied die amateurhafte Ästhetik wieder, indem sie sie mit Inhalten der Mainstream-Presse zusammenwerfen. Sie stellen sich dabei vor, wie neue Websites aussehen könnten, wenn sie von Laienjournalisten entwickelt würden, deren ästhetische Auswahl die Web-Kultur vor dem Dot-Com-Boom bestimmt hatten. Sie schufen mit ”Online Newspapers” einen Pseudo-Vorgänger der heutigen Web-Nachrichten, der darüber hinaus auch auf die fortwährende Veraltung von Technik und Stil anspielt – ein wichtiger Faktor in unserer sich stetig verändernden Medienlandschaft.

Weitere Informationen: http://art.teleportacia.org/exhibition/online_newspapers_new_york_edition/




-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------


Co-KuratorInnen der Online – Ausstellung

Olia Lialina & Dragan Espenschied

Die Medienkünstler Olia Lialina und Dragan Espenschied sind dieses Jahr Co-Kuratoren des Online-Wettbewerbs. Olia Lialina entwickelte in ihrem Werk eine besondere Erzähltechnik mit der Sprache der Elemente eines Webbrowsers und gilt als eine der Begründerinnen des Genres net.art. Dragan Espenschied ist Künstler, Gestalter, Programmierer und Musiker.

Weitere Informationen: http://drx.a-blast.org





 
Login Form





Passwort vergessen?
CLOSE...