Filmwinter
  • Deutsch
  • English
Online / Offline - Exhibition

International Competition
Online / Offline



20. – 30. 01. 2010                  h7 raumaufzeit

Opening hours:           daily  14 – 20:00 h
Exhibition opening:    Wed, 20.01., 19:30 h

 

Online / Offline - Exhibition

 

 

SearchSongs - Sehnsuchtsmelodien des Netzes
Search Songs- the net’s melodies of longing


Johannes Auer (Stuttgart) & AND-OR, Beat Suter, René Bauer (Zürich),
Germany 2009

 

Search engines are the most popular tool on the Internet. The „SearchSongs“ access the stream of words during a live search of Lycos. This stream of words can be seen as an expression of collective desire, as the net’s melody of longing, played by the many thousand who are trying to reach for what they have desired in every moment via the search engine. This melody of longing is made audible by the “SearchSongs”.

Words contain playable tones on the scale. The web interface of the “SearchSongs” shows the stream of words of the live search on the one hand and on the other one can see the line of tones below, transforming playable letters into tones. Non-playable letters define the tone length. Additionally the “SearchSongs” enable the viewer/listener to interactively insert their own words into the stream and thus take part in producing music. In this way the creation is a highly complex mesh of linguistic and musical interaction between humans, machine and net communication.

 

Further information: http://searchsongs.cyberfiction.ch

 

 

 

</dig%it>

Calin Man, Romania 2006 

}

// digital items of reVoltaire archive are elapsed in a pataHTTPhysical digest;

}


Further information: http://revoltaire.net/digit

 

 

www.wahl11.de - Fußball und Demokratie

www.wahl11.de - Football and Democracy

Rigoletti alias Marion Pfaus in Kooperation mit X New Media Compostion und klitsche.de, Germany 2009

 

If we were to elect the national football team democratically, would the Bremen fan be able to select any other goalie besides Tim Wiese? And Philipp Lahm as an outfield defender – is that a real consensus? What would be the favourite system for a match?

“wahl11.de” carries out an election – over and over again and for every upcoming international match. The resulting scores will be evaluated and analysed via video by Rigoletti.

 

People! Go and vote!

 

Further information: www.wahl11.de , www.rigoletti.de, www.x-new-media.com , www.klitsche.de

 

 

 

Street with a view
Ben Kinsley, USA 2009   

 

On May 3rd 2008, artists Robin Hewlett and Ben Kinsley invited the Google Inc. Street View team and residents of Pittsburgh’s Northside to collaborate on a series of tableaux along Sampsonia Way. Neighbors, and other participants from around the city, staged scenes ranging from a parade and a marathon, to a garage band practice, a seventeenth century sword fight and much more...

Street View technicians captured 360-degree photographs of the street with the scenes in action and integrated the images into the Street View mapping platform. This first-ever artistic intervention in Google Street View made its debut on the web in November of 2008.

Further information: www.streetwithaview.com

 

 

 

Production of my Subjectivity
Stefan Hager, Germany 2004 – 2009   

 

The <Transordinator> makes it digitally possible to revirtualise ideas and expressions of  modern thinkers and artists in order to put an audience in the position to experience them in a subjective way in their own present time. In order to get there, the audience is asked to do this again by means of which it will experience the other as their own practice. Thus, ideas of names as famous as Cézanne, Duchamp, Newmann, Brecht, Cage, Arakawa, Husserl, Graham and many more will reoccur. By reducing the occurrence to its elementary form an irritation of perception emerges which causes the audience to be self-observant while accomplishing an immaterial form and while developing an awareness for its own synthesising function in the reconstruction of the (hi)story of the idea.

Further information: www.transordinator.com/edition


 

Avatar Orchestra Metaverse
Leif Inge, Norway 2007 – 2009  

 

The “Avatar Orchestra Metaverse” works with its growing repertoire of compositions made especially for it and the three dimensional virtual environment of Second Life that is both the Orchestral home and its contextual base. When performing, the Orchestra works with audio samples, and there are many ways to trigger audio samples within Second Life. The Orchestra builds its own virtual instruments and installations specific for each piece, and in this way individual performers are able to trigger sounds independent from one another. It does not have a fixed size, as the performers are based globally on planet earth, and there is an ever-changing mix of skills, fields, backgrounds, and generations shaping the Orchestra at any time.


Further information: www.creativemachinery.org/oi.html , http://tinyurl.com/mvxkg4

 


 

Music from the masses
Matthias Fritsch, Germany 2007-9   

 

For this series of works Matthias Fritsch created several clips in the length of an average music video. The clips are available online and can be downloaded by musicians, composers and sound designers from all over the world that wish to produce and propose soundlayers for them. There are no restrictions or guidelines to follow. Within 5 years, the aim is to produce 10 silent clips open for participation & collaboration. In return for participating in the project, participants may use the High Definition video for free, for commercial or non-commercial purposes of their work. The work is an open edition, and it is always possible to add new compositions and variations. This generic model of recycling and generating new material resembles the "Youtube-Reality", where material is in constant flux.

Further information: http://subrealic.net/mftm
 

 

 

Volatile Nexus
Tim Coe, Germany 2009

“Volatile Nexus” trawls RSS news feeds and analyses each story, picking out the words that occur most frequently. On screen, each story is seen as a moving bubble containing the article's lead picture and a cloud of the most-used words. Whenever two stories manifest the same word, a connecting line joins them and they are pulled towards each other ...

 

Further information: http://tim-coe.net/volatile-nexus

 



The use

Chris Mann, USA 2009   

 

Language is the mechanism whereby you understand what i'm thinking better than i do (where 'i' is defined by those changes for which i is required).


Further information: www.theuse.info/

 

 

 

Last Midi Background

Sebastian Schmieg, Germany 2009   

 

“Last Midi Background” (LMB) is an internet radio, a cyberspace shuttle, and a kind of archive. LMB takes you on a journey through an almost forgotten web that is loud, colorful, often personal  and doesn't care about standards. Though it might be forgotten by many, some parts of it are still there, waiting to be explored. And maybe we can learn something along the way ...

 

Further information: www.kingcosmonaut.de/lmb

 

 

 

Foto-Cache
Karl Mendonca, USA 2009   

 

 “Foto-Cache” is an online repository of forgotten and unwanted cell-phone images that participants have 'donated' using their cell phones. Rooted in Benjaminís idea of the 'optical unconscious' the project seeks to document an otherwise unaccounted form of personal media to distil the repressed personality of our collective (un)consciousness. The online gallery is neither sortable nor searchable, providing an almost sequential interface to the submitted images ...

 

Further information: http://cisforkollage.com/cache

 

 

 

Sharedscapes
Grégoire Zabé, France 2009   


“Sharedscapes” is an experimental shared space, a platform for creatvity, research and self-expression. It welcomes online submissions of texts, pictures and sounds, which will express your definitions of the concept of landscape.

Through the medium of the technological translation of material published online, its secondary aim is to create a 3D space/sculpture in real time. Each deformation of the 3d space surface is specific, linked to the characteristics of the message (date, weight, content...). Little by little, a virtual landscape will develop. Its composition will not be subject to the physical constraints of a site (in concrete geographical terms) but to the technological exchanges of human beings virtually connected to each other.

Further information: www.sharedscapes.net


 

Stepping on the Light
Michael Filimowicz, Canada 2009   


“Stepping on the Light” is part of a series of works exploring the creative potentials of extremely portable digital devices. The protagonist of this video is modeled on the notion of an avatar in a virtual space, only this avatar is wandering “real space” (downtown Chicago) in a semi-virtual environment (video footage). The duality of the layered image aims to illustrate this split-subjectivity of real and represented walker/avatar navigating in a not-quite-aimless fashion through the Cartesian grids of the urban matrix, a grid-space also redolent of game environments. Traditionally, Cartesian coordinates have aimed at Control, Predictability, and Accuracy in the modeling and manipulation of space. The approach of the protagonist in “Stepping on the Light” is to highlight the embodied and pleasurable aspects of navigation.

Further information: http://spatula.ca/sotl/pg.php?s=interactive

 

 

 

OFFLINE:

 

NRG
Chris Joseph, Great Britain 2008 


It's 2010 and you have been appointed to lead the new World Energy Directorate, with the power to control international spending and research on energy sources and production. Your decisions will influence the life of billions of humans, countless species and the Earth as a whole. How will your choices change all our lives during the planet's next forty years of industrial development?

Part environmental game, part multimedia artwork, “NRG” (short for En-er-gy) is intended to stimulate thought and discussion about energy consumption, global warming and the need for the development of lifestyle alternatives.

Further information: http://chrisjoseph.org

 

 

 

 
Login Form





Lost Password?
CLOSE...

Filmwinter
  • Deutsch
  • English
Online / Offline – Ausstellung

Internationaler Wettbewerb
Online / Offline


 

20. – 30. 01. 2010                  h7 raumaufzeit

Öffnungszeiten:                 täglich  14 – 20:00 Uhr
Ausstellungs-Eröffnung:   Mi, 20.01., 19:30 Uhr



Online / Offline – Ausstellung

 

 

SearchSongs - Sehnsuchtsmelodien des Netzes
Johannes Auer (Stuttgart) & AND-OR, Beat Suter, René Bauer (Zürich),
Deutschland 2009

 

Suchmaschinen sind das populärste Werkzeug des Internets. Die“ SearchSongs“ greifen auf den Wortstrom der Live-Suche von Lycos zu. Dieser Wortstrom kann als Ausdruck des kollektiven Begehrens, als die Sehnsuchtsmelodie des Netzes begriffen werden, gespielt von den zig Tausenden, die in jedem Augenblick via Suchmaschine versuchen, an das Begehrte zu gelangen. Diese Sehnsuchtsmelodie wird hörbar gemacht durch die „SearchSongs“.

Wörter beinhalten spielbare Töne der Notenskala. Das Webinterface der „SearchSongs“ zeigt einerseits den Wortstrom der Live-Suche an, andererseits läuft darunter eine Notenlinie, die spielbare Buchstaben in Noten umwandelt. Nicht spielbare Buchstaben definieren die Tonlänge. Die „SearchSongs“ ermöglichen es dem Zuschauer/-hörer, zusätzlich eigene Worte interaktiv in den Wortstrom einzuschieben und mitzumusizieren.

Was so entsteht, ist ein höchst komplexes Geflecht der sprachlich-musikalischen Interaktion zwischen Mensch, Maschine und Netzkommunikation.

 

Weitere Informationen: http://searchsongs.cyberfiction.ch

 

 

 

</dig%it>

Calin Man, Rumänien 2006 

}

// digitale Elemente oder reVoltaire Archivmaterial werden in einem pataHTTPhysical verdaut;
}

 

Weitere Informationen: http://revoltaire.net/digit


 

www.wahl11.de - Fußball und Demokratie

Rigoletti alias Marion Pfaus in Kooperation mit X New Media Compostionklitsche.de, Deutschland 2009 und

 

Wenn man die Fußballnationalmannschaft demokratisch wählen könnte, wäre dann der Werder-Fan in der Lage, jemand anderen ins Tor zu wählen als Tim Wiese?

Und ist Philipp Lahm als Außenverteidiger wirklich Konsens? Welches Spielsystem wird bevorzugt? Auf „wahl11.de“ wird die Wahl durchgeführt und zwar immer wieder bis zu jedem nächsten Länderspiel. Die daraus resultierenden Ergebnisse werden ausgewertet und von Rigoletti per Video analysiert.

 

Leute! Geht wählen!

Weitere Informationen: www.wahl11.de , www.rigoletti.de, www.x-new-media.com , www.klitsche.de

 

 

 

Street with a view
Ben Kinsley, USA 2009   


Am 3. Mai 2008 luden die Künstler Robin Hewlett und Ben Kinsley das Team von Google Inc. Street View und die Bewohner des Northside-Viertels von Pittsburgh ein, um mit ihnen gemeinsam an einer Serie von Tableaus rund um den Sampsonia Way zu arbeiten. Die Anwohner und andere Teilnehmer aus der Stadt inszenierten Szenen, die von einer Parade zu einem Marathon, Proben einer Band in der Garage, einem Schwertkampf im 17. Jahrhundert und vielen anderen reichten ...

Die Techniker des Street-View-Teams hielten in 360-Grad-Aufnahmen die Aktionen auf der Straße fest und integrierten die Bilder in die Street-View-Mapping-Plattform. Diese erstmalige künstlerische Intervention bei Google Street View hatte im November 2008 ihr Debüt im Netz.

Weitere Informationen: www.streetwithaview.com

 

 

 

Production of my Subjectivity
Stefan Hager, Deutschland 2004 – 2009   

 

Der <Transordinator> verschafft uns digital die Möglichkeit, Ideen und Ausdrücke moderner Denker und Künstler zurück ins Leben zu rufen, um sie für ein Publikum im Hier und Jetzt nochmals - ganz subjektiv - erlebbar zu machen. Um das zu erreichen wird das Publikum aufgefordert, diese noch einmal zu exerzieren, zu erfahren, wodurch es dann das Fremde als eigene Praxis erfährt. Auf diese Weise wiederholen sich Ideen so bekannter Größen wie Cézanne, Duchamp, Newmann, Brecht, Cage, Arakawa, Husserl, Graham und vieler anderer. Durch die Reduktion des Ereignisses auf seine elementare Form entsteht eine Wahrnehmungsirritation, die dafür sorgt, dass sich das Publikum selbst beim Vollzug der immateriellen Form beobachtet und ein Bewusstsein für seine eigene, synthetisierende Funktion bei der Rekonstruktion der Ideen-Geschichte(n) entwickelt.

Weitere Informationen: www.transordinator.com/edition


 

Avatar Orchestra Metaverse
Leif Inge, Norwegen 2007 – 2009  

 

Das “Avatar Orchestra Metaverse” arbeitet mit seinem wachsenden Repertoire an speziell dafür gemachten Kompositionen in einem dreidimensionalen virtuellen Environment von Second Life, das sowohl Heimat des Orchesters als auch seine kontext-abhängige Basis ist. Wenn es spielt, arbeitet das Orchester mit Audio-Samples – innerhalb von Second Life gibt es viele Wege, Audio-Samples zu triggern. Das Orchester baut für jedes seiner Stücke individuell seine eigenen virtuellen Instrumente und Installationen, auf diese Weise sind die einzelnen Performer in der Lage, Töne zu erzeugen, die unabhängig voneinander sind. Es hat keine fest bestimmte Größe, da die Performer über die ganze Welt verteilt sind und es einen kontinuierlichen Mix aus Fähigkeiten, Bereichen, Hintergründen und Generationen gibt, die das Orchester immer wieder neu formen.

 

Weitere Informationen: www.creativemachinery.org/oi.html , http://tinyurl.com/mvxkg4

 


 

Music from the masses
Matthias Fritsch, Deutschland 2007-9   

 

Für die Arbeit "Music From the Masses" hat Matthias Fritsch Clips in der Länge von durchschnittlichen Musik Videos produziert. Die Stummfilme wurden online gestellt und von Musikern, Komponisten und Sounddesignern aus der ganzen Welt heruntergeladen und vertont. Dabei sind eine Vielzahl in Stil, Atmosphäre und Musikgenre differierende Arbeiten entstanden. Über einen Zeitraum von 5 Jahren werden insgesamt 10 stumme Videos produziert und zur Partizipation veröffentlicht.

Es handelt sich um eine 'open edition', in der immer neue Kompositionen und Variationen hinzugefügt werden können. Dieses generische Modell der Materialbearbeitung entspricht daher der "Youtube-Realität", wo es immer wieder zu Veränderungen von platziertem Clipmaterial kommt.

 

Weitere Informationen: http://subrealic.net/mftm
 

 

 

Volatile Nexus
Tim Coe, Deutschland 2009

„Volatile Nexus“ durchsiebt RSS News Feeds, analysiert jede Meldung und sucht dabei die Wörter heraus, die am häufigsten auftauchen. Auf dem Bildschirm erscheint jede Nachricht als bewegliche Blase, in der sich das Titelbild des Artikels und eine Wolke aus den meistverwendeten Wörtern befindet. Wann immer in zwei Berichten das gleiche Wort auftaucht, werden diese durch eine Linie verbunden und zusammen gezogen ...

Weitere Informationen: http://tim-coe.net/volatile-nexus

 



The use

Chris Mann, USA 2009   


Sprache ist der Mechanismus, durch den du besser verstehst was ich denke, als ich selbst (wobei “ich” durch die Veränderungen definiert ist, für die “ich” notwendig bin).

Weitere Informationen: www.theuse.info/

 

 

 

Last Midi Background

Sebastian Schmieg, Deutschland 2009   


“Last Midi Background“ (LMB) ist Internetradio, Cyberspace-Shuttle und eine Art Archiv. Es lädt zu einer Reise durch ein fast vergessenes Netz ein, das laut, farbenfroh und oftmals persönlich ist, sich aber nicht um Normen kümmert. Obwohl es vielleicht von vielen vergessen wurde, sind Teile davon immer noch existent und warten darauf, erkundet zu werden. Und vielleicht kann man auf dem Erkundungsgang noch etwas lernen...

Weitere Informationen: www.kingcosmonaut.de/lmb

 

 

 

Foto-Cache
Karl Mendonca, USA 2009   

 

„Foto-Cache“ ist eine Online-Deponie vergessener und ungewollter Handy-Fotografien, die von den Teilnehmern via Handy “gespendet” wurden. Verwurzelt in Benjamins Idee des “Optisch-Unbewussten” versucht das Projekt eine Form des persönlichen Mediums zu dokumentieren, das ansonsten unberücksichtigt bleibt, um die verdrängte Persönlichkeit unseres kollektiven (Unter-)Bewusstseins zu destillieren. In der Online-Galerie kann weder sortiert noch gesucht werden, und so liefert sie den eingereichten Bildern eine nahezu sequenzielle Schnittstelle...

 

Weitere Informationen: http://cisforkollage.com/cache

 

 

 

Sharedscapes
Grégoire Zabé, Frankreich 2009   


“Sharedscapes” ist ein experimenteller, gemeinsam genutzter Raum – eine Plattform für Kreativität, Recherche und Selbstdarstellung. Das Einreichen von Texten, Bildern und Sounds, welche die Definitionen eines Landschafts-Konzepts der Teilnehmer ausdrücken, ist hierbei erwünscht.

Ein weiteres Ziel des Projekts ist es, mithilfe des Mediums der technologischen Übersetzung von online veröffentlichtem Material einen 3D-Raum oder eine 3D-Skulptur in Echtzeit zu erstellen. Jede Deformation der 3D-Raumoberfläche ist spezifisch und mit den Charakteristika der Nachricht (Datum, Größe, Inhalt...) verlinkt. Nach und nach entwickelt sich eine Landschaft. Ihre Komposition unterliegt nicht den physischen Beschränkungen einer Site (in konkreter geographischer Hinsicht), sondern dem technischen Austausch von Menschen, die virtuell miteinander vernetzt sind.

Weitere Informationen: www.sharedscapes.net


 

Stepping on the Light
Michael Filimowicz, Kanada 2009   


“Stepping on the Light” ist Teil einer Reihe von Arbeiten, die das kreative Potenzial extrem transportabler digitaler Geräte auslotet. Der Protagonist des Videos wurde nach der Idee eines Avatars im virtuellen Raum entwickelt, allerdings wandert dieser Avatar in einer semi-virtuellen Umgebung (Videomaterial) durch den “realen Raum” (die Innenstadt von Chicago). Die Dualität der sich überlagernden Bilder zielt darauf ab, die gespaltene Subjektivität des realen und dargestellten Läufers/Avatars zu zeigen, der auf nicht unbedingt ziellose Art durch die kartesischen Raster einer urbanen Matrix navigiert – einem vernetzten Raum, der auch stark an die Environments in Computerspielen erinnert. Traditionellerweise sind kartesische Koordinaten auf Kontrolle, Berechenbarkeit und Genauigkeit beim Entwickeln und der Manipulation des Raums ausgerichtet. Der Ansatz des Protagonisten in “Stepping on the Light” soll die inhärenten und spaßigen Aspekte der Navigation hervorheben.

Weitere Informationen: http://spatula.ca/sotl/pg.php?s=interactive

 

 

 

OFFLINE:

 

NRG
Chris Joseph, Großbritannien 2008 


Wir schreiben das Jahr 2010 und Sie wurden zum Leiter der neuen Generaldirektion für Weltenergie bestimmt. Sie haben die Macht, die Ausgaben und die Forschung im Bereich Energiequellen und -produktion auf der ganzen Welt zu kontrollieren. Ihre Entscheidungen werden das Leben von Milliarden von Menschen, zahllosen Arten und die ganze Erde beeinflussen. Wie wird sich das auf unser aller Leben innerhalb der nächsten 40 Jahre der industriellen Weiterentwicklung auf diesem Planeten auswirken?

„NRG“ (Kurzform von En-er-gie) ist zum Teil Umwelt-Spiel, zum Teil Multimedia-Kunst und soll dazu anregen, über Energiekonsum, globale Erwärmung und die Notwendigkeit der Entwicklung alternativer Lebensstile nachzudenken und zu diskutieren.

Weitere Informationen: http://chrisjoseph.org

 

 

 

 
Login Form





Passwort vergessen?
CLOSE...